heavy cross, tight shackle

The house doesn't feel like home,
mother. Not since you
left for the other world
after father left for another house
from outside town

Now there's just me
here. And my older brother who
is younger than me mentally
and will remain so for the rest of his life
He still hears whispers
coming from every dark corner of
the house
and because of this our electric bill
is enormous

I can no longer take this

I'm not strong enough

I'm not willing enough

This cross is too damn heavy. It's
breaking my back, breaking my soul

I want to get a better job
and eventually a car
and a wife
and start a family

I can't do that while taking care
of my troubled brother

I quit.

Tonight
I will make his nightmares come true
The electricity will go out
and suddenly the whispers that come from
the dark will become voices and
then screams
and they'll get him

A rabbit can die if it gets too
scared. I believe this is also
valid for my troubled brother. I'll only make
sure to leave a few sharp objects
near him

I know he'll do it

And I'm sorry that he'll do it
but there's no other way to break
this shackle

One day
I'll debate the issue with you, mother
But for now you can't argue with me

so I win by default
(▔▀ ‿ ▀ )ლ ▂▂⌇
Check out my new book filled with dark poetry -- REALITY CHECK

2 thoughts on “heavy cross, tight shackle

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑