a spiderweb full of butterflies, shaking in the wind

she stretched on the bed
and reached with
her long leg
and placed her foot on his desk
before him
on the notebook he was writing in

“Wow,” she said. “Your place is so small,
like a box of matches. And so
empty. So lonely. Why don’t
you ever have
anyone over? I never see or hear you
talking to people. Why
must you be like that?”

“I don’t like people,” he
said

"Why?"

“Don’t ask silly questions. For the
same reason I don’t like
hotdogs. I just don’t
like them.”

“Do you like me?” she asked

“I don’t know,” he said

“Would you like me to leave?”

“I don’t know.”

“You don’t know a lot of things, boy. I came
to you because… I wanted to
have a place from which I’d be missed
if I left. I thought the heart of
someone as lonely as you would
be that special place for me.
Turns out
you’re not lonely at all. You’re just
alone.”

“I guess,” he said

She removed her foot from his notebook
and turned
facing the wall
and began to sob

“Hey, don’t be like that,” he said. “I might
not be missing you if you go,
but…”

“But what!?”

“Well, you still remain my least detestable
hallucination. I like your
legs, with all their ten joints. I like
your crimson eyes, all eight of them. Your
fangs, your horns, the scaled wings, everything.
I really think you’re…”

“Yeah? You think I’m what?”

“You’re… what I need in my life
right now. So don’t leave
just yet, okay?”

“Hah! I knew you love me.”

“I didn’t say that.”

“Shut up, you don’t know it yet. But you
love me. Come to bed, you silly
oaf! Let’s sleep
and dream together. Something colorful,
vibrant. A spider web full
of butterflies. Shaking in the wind. Come.”

He closed his notebook
and went
to bed

(▔▀ ‿ ▀ )ლ ▂▂⌇
Check out my new book filled with dark poetry -- REALITY CHECK

14 thoughts on “a spiderweb full of butterflies, shaking in the wind

Add yours

  1. Now THAT was a plot twist for me, honestly, But what I find amazing is your ability to describe even a mostly, dare I say, feared creature in such a, tender, gentle way. Definately one of my favourtie poem I have read by you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑